'B&C' to Honor 26th Annual Hall of Fame Class Oct. 18

The 2016 Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame has been set for Oct. 18 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York.

Honorees named to the 26th annual class include cable industry executives Michael Powell, president and CEO, National Cable & Telecommunications Association; Kevin Reilly, president, TBS and TNT, and chief creative officer, Turner Entertainment; and Jeff Wachtel, chief content officer, NBCUniversal Cable Entertainment, and president, Universal Cable Productions & Wilshire Studios. Additionally, Turner Network Television’s Inside the NBA will be honored. 

From elsewhere across the TV industry, the other honorees include Robert Kraft, founder, chairman and CEO of The Kraft Group and owner of the New England Patriots, who will receive the Chairman's Award; Monica Gadsby, CEO, Latin America, Publicis One; The CW President Mark PedowitzPeter Liguori, CEO and president of Tribune Media; Deborah Norville, anchor of Inside Edition, CBS Syndication; Stuart Sucherman, chairman, Sucherman Group; Jay Sures, managing director, United Talent Agency; Keith Turner, president, advertising sales & marketing, Univision Communications Inc. 

Related: NYC Television & Video Week Returns Oct. 17-20, 2016

“Each year the Hall of Fame gala continues to grow bigger and more exciting,” said Bill McGorry, chairman of the Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame. “It is an honor to add these industry leaders to the prestigious group of inductees we have recognized in our long and storied history.”

“The broadcast industry is led by extraordinarily talented builders and visionaries,” added Louis Hillelson, VP/group publisher, Broadcasting & Cable. “It is a privilege to recognize these honorees and we look forward to celebrating with them this October.” 

Broadcasting & Cable is a sister publication to Multichannel News.

For more on the Hall of Fame, which is part of NewBay Media's NYC Television and Video Week, go to bchalloffame.com.

A portion of the net proceeds go to the Broadcasters Foundation of America and The Paley Center for Media.