Skip to main content

ACA Fetes Five With Awards At Independent Show

The American Cable Association handed out five awards at the fifth annual Independent Show .
The awards were presented before hundreds of ACA members at the Hilton Baltimore Inner Harbor, site of the fifth annual Independent Show, which is co-hosted by ACA and the National Cable Television Cooperative.

Martin Brophy, president and CEO Shen-Heights TV Associates, received the ACA Eagle Award, which is typically presented to an ACA member, with 15 years of service in the cable industry whose achievements during that period have significantly benefited the cable industry and have served as an inspiration to his or her colleagues.
Jim Beattie, assistant general counsel of Bevcomm Communications, was bestowed with the Lyn Simpson Award, recognizing a company or individual embodying the passion and commitment that Simpson brought to the small operator community in her role as an ACA founding member in the early 1990s. The award underscores the value of commitment, dedication, and sacrifice to the independent cable business.
Dave Baum, the founder of JetBroadband, earned the ACA Board Service Award, which salutes the service and commitment of an ACA board member stepping down from that position. Baum was the owner and operator of both Helicon Cable and JetBroadband.

ACA gave Colleen Abdoulah, president & CEO WOW! Internet, Cable and Phone, its PAC Individual Leadership Award, emblematic of her enthusiasm, dedication and support for the ACA PAC and creating a culture of knowledge within the company.

In addition, ACA president and CEO Matt Polka also presented the ACA PAC Leadership Award to Buckeye Communications, for more than doubling its PAC contribution totals and significantly increasing the number of ACA PAC donors in the past year.

"ACA's success as an organization depends on the care and dedication of some very special people," said Polka in a statement. "The independent cable community has earned a well-deserved role in the public policy arena because individuals like the ones we honor today with our highest awards have used their exceptional talents to serve a great cause with remarkable skill and sophistication. I salute all of them for accolades they so richly deserve."

For more Independent Show coverage click here.