Malone to Receive Engineering Emmy

Cable legend and Liberty Media chairman John Malone has been named the recipient of the Television Academy’s Charles F. Jenkins Lifetime Achievement Award, part of the Engineering Emmys slated for Oct. 26.

The award is named after Jenkins, a pioneer of early cinema and one of the inventors of television, and “honors a living individual whose ongoing contributions have significantly affected the state of television technology and engineering.” Malone is receiving the ward for his lifetime commitment and significant contributions to the advancement of cable television.

Past recipients of the award include founder and former Cable Labs CEO Dick Green and Sony Corp.'s Laurence Thorpe.

The 68th Annual Television Academy Engineering Awards will be held on Oct. 26 at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles and will be hosted by Criminal Minds star Kirsten Vangsness.

NHK’s Science and Technology Research Laboratories will receive the Philo T. Farnsworth Corprate Achievement Award, which honors an agency, company or institution whose contributions over time have substantially impacted television technology and engineering.

Six other companies are set to receive Engineering Emmy’s, according to the Television Academy: software company SyncOnSet; camera tracking technology developer Ncam Technologies; Sony Corp.’s 2/3" 4K Imaging System;power technology company Saunders Electric; wireless technology company Zaxcom;and cloud-based software developer Group It For Me!

The 68th Engineering Emmy Awards are overseen by chair Barry Zegel, Senior Vice President, General Manager CBS Television City and Committee members Wendy Aylsworth, Chris Cookson, Ruth Adelman, Stuart Bass, Jim DeFilippis, Dave Stump, William Powloski, Leon Silverman and Craig Weiss.