Skip to main content

Cable Center Names Hall of Fame Class of 2019

The Cable Center has announced its Hall of Fame class of 2019, an eclectic list of men and women who have made their respective marks on the cable industry over the past several years. The honorees will be inducted during the 22nd annual Cable Hall of Fame celebration, held on May 2 at the Ziegfeld Ballroom in New York City.

The honorees were chosen for their leadership, entrepreneurship and innovation in media. Since 1998, 133 leaders have been inducted into the Cable Hall of Fame. The 2019 honorees are:

  • Leslie Ellis, president, Ellis Edits Inc. and longtime technology contributor for Multichannel News.
  • Phil Kent, former chairman and CEO, Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.
  • Kyle McSlarrow, SVP, customer experience, Comcast.
  • Steve Miron, CEO, Advance/Newhouse.
  • MTV, Founding Creators.
  • Susan Swain and Rob Kennedy, president and co-CEOs, C-SPAN.

“The 2019 Cable Hall of Fame class represents leaders from some of the industry’s most innovative and groundbreaking companies and includes our first cable TV network, MTV. As a cultural icon whose impact on music and cable is unrivaled, it will be our pleasure to honor MTV’s founding creators,” said Penthera Partners president and CEO and Cable Center board chairman Michael Willner in a statement. “The red carpet will shine bright for this year’s Cable Hall of Fame celebration at the extraordinary Ziegfeld Ballroom in New York.”

The Ziegfeld Ballroom is home to the Cable Hall of Fame through at least 2020.

“The members of this year’s Cable Hall of Fame class have all had an immeasurable impact on the cable industry. We are thrilled to be returning to the Ziegfeld Ballroom and New York City for the Cable Hall of Fame celebration and are looking forward to recognizing all of our new honorees on May 2,” said The Cable Center CEO Jana Henthorn in a statement.

For more information on the celebration and to secure sponsorships, visit, or call 720-502-7513.